Skip to main content

Marc Snir scoops IEEE award

The IEEE Technical committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC) has announced that the 2013 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing has been awarded to Marc Snir.

Professor Snir is director of the Mathematics and Computer Science Division at the Argonne National Laboratory and Michael Faiman and Saburo Muroga Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  

He currently pursues research in parallel computing. He was head of the Computer Science Department from 2001 to 2007. Until  2001 he was a senior manager at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center where he led the Scalable Parallel Systems research group that was responsible for major contributions to the IBM SP scalable parallel system and to the IBM Blue Gene system.

Media Partners